Finding focus – 10DBC

I’ve signed up for Natalie’s blog challenge again. I’ll be up front and admit that I did the challenge last year and didn’t finish – so it will be interesting to see what 2016 brings!  

The first topic about 2-3 things that are holding me back from living my ideal lifestyle seems particularly poignant when I read over my previous year’s responses and think back over the progress I’ve made. I’ve certainly escaped the corporate rat race – before the date I promised myself – but I don’t actually have the freedom lifestyle I promised myself. 

On reflection, I believe the two main things that are holding me back are a tendency to chase a progression of shiny new ideas, rather than focusing on my foundation concept, and a desire for perfection (procrastination) or fear of stepping out of my comfort zone. 

I’ve known how I want to achieve my freedom plan for a long time – I just keep allowing myself to be distracted! This results in very small leaps of progress with a series of large hiatuses in between my efforts. It also means that I’m constantly revisiting old ground in an attempt to get my head back into my freedom plan – hardly productive or very motivating. 

In the process of rehashing old material I find myself rethinking and reworking the stuff that I’ve already done. This constant state of trying to perfect something that’s still effectively in draft is another time and energy waster. It is also probably more reflective of my fear of putting something out there that will be rubbished and ridiculed – so the longer I polish the longer I can put off facing that fear. 

What then is the solution? Firstly, develop a car park for all my shiny new thoughts, write them down and only go back to them when I’ve finished what I started. And secondly, complete a draft version of my freedom plan as soon as possible. Once the skeletons in place I can flesh out the details. I need to just do it! 

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 1

Leave a Reply

