Outsourcing

Totally irrelevant to the business theme of this blog but I am excited to report that I took Natalie’s challenge to heart and completed my first outsourcing task within 10 minutes. I am never going to epilady my legs again – waxing rules!

Anyway, back to the job at hand, one of the things I have been struggling with is coming up with a name for my coaching program. I’ve read advice about not getting too hung up on this aspect – but I think the name can form the key element of one’s image, brand and marketing strategy. It’s difficult to transform a boring and meaningless name into an exciting offering that attracts customers and sales – and why not try and grab their attention at the outset with a great name.

I believe a name has to speak to your audience to not only help them identify with your product, as well as excite them enough to want to find out more. This is particularly important for on online environment where there is so much competition for visibility and domain names. And it’s pointless creating a great name if you can’t get the domain name to identify with it.

I’ve been playing around with different ideas for ages and everything I come up with something I think could work, someone else has already used the name or registered the domain name. I lack the imagination to keep up this constant challenge and frankly find it a bit disheartening. I also recognize that at some point this inability to name and brand my product will impede my progress. At some point I’m going to have to align my content language style, website design and marketing strategy to my brand and the sooner I get this sorted the easier it will be.

So, my one outsourcing task that I am going to follow up is to ask someone else to come up with a list of names and available domains which will suit my business needs and image. Rather than spend hours brainstorming ideas and researching names I will put together a brief describing the image I want to project and pay someone else to do the work for me. They can then present me with a series of options and possibly a brilliant name that is inspiring and available. Nothing ventured – nothing gained!

This will leave me with the time and the energy to put together a great program that will live up to its great name and brand.

Leave a Reply

