Daily Distractions

My key on-line distraction is driven by a desire for a fast response to my queries, comments and questions. It’s because I am super efficient at managing time (or alternatively don’t have enough to do) so I’m looking for others to be the same. I want a quick response so I can close off my action, tick it off the “to do” list and move forward on to the next item. I hate waiting around and it drives me crazy thinking that the recipient has no doubt seen my request and still hasn’t responded. In other words I have the patience of a gnat (minuscule).

This impatience gets played out in the constant checking of emails, Facebook and various message services for those eagerly anticipated responses.  It provides an endless source of distraction when I should be focused and present in the current activity I am undertaking.

And the funny thing is that I’ve only just developed this distracting condition over the last year or so. I can name a hundred and one reasons for my growing online dependence. Primarily, it resulted from posting more onto Facebook on holiday leading to posting more in normal life, a bit of social isolation from changing employment contracts, and an increased data plan to meet my increased online needs.  It’s a vicious circle that never seems to end.

Not much else to it but to practice some self-control, put away the distractions and get on with the important things in life.

Leave a Reply

